Salah Beats De Bruyne To Football Writers’ Association Player Of The Year Award « CmaTrends

Liverpool star forward Mohamed Salah has been named the Football Writers’ Association (FWA) Footballer of the Year.

The Reds disclosed this in a statement on on Friday.

The Egyptian skipper beat off competition from Manchester City midfielder Kevin de Bruyne and West Ham’s Declan Rice to land the award.

He last won the award, which has been presented since 1938, in 2018.

“Mohamed Salah has been named Football Writers’ Association (FWA) Footballer of the Year for 2022.

“Liverpool’s No.11 won 48 per cent of the vote from journalists in the FWA to take the prestigious prize for the second time following his success in 2018, with Kevin De Bruyne and Declan Rice finishing second and third respectively.

“Salah – one of nine members of Jürgen Klopp’s squad to receive votes in the poll – will be presented with the trophy on May 5.

“The Egyptian has, once again, recorded remarkable statistics in terms of goals and assists this season to help inspire the Reds’ bid for an unprecedented quadruple.

“He leads the way in the race for both the Premier League Golden Boot (22 goals) and Playmaker of the Season (13 assists) awards and, across all competitions, has registered 30 goals and 14 assists in 44 appearances.

“Salah becomes only the third Liverpool player to win the FWA accolade for a second time, after Kenny Dalglish and John Barnes.”

Salah could help Liverpool make history as the first English club to win the quadruple.

The Reds can add the Premier League, FA Cup and UEFA Champions League to the League Cup that has already been won this season.

They will take on Chelsea in the FA Cup final, are just one point behind City in the Premier League standing and will take a 2-0 advantage to Spain in the Champions League second leg tie next week.

In the women’s category, Australian striker, Samantha Kerr, who plays for Chelsea.

Currently on 18 goals in the Women’s Super League, Kerr claimed 40 per cent of the vote with Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema in second place and Lauren Hemp of Manchester City placing third.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.