U.S. In Progress Strand At Wroclaw Festival Sets $100,000 In Awards

Rough-cut or final-cut U.S. narrative feature film projects seeking funding are now invited to submit for the 2022 edition US in progress will be held from 9 to 11 November at the 13th American Film Festival (November 8-13) in Wroclaw, Poland. The chain pairs U.S. projects in their final production stages with European buyers and top Polish image and sound post-production companies, and offers rewards worth a total of $100,000.head of the group Polish Film Academy, Radoslaw Simigurskywill provide a cash prize of $50,000 for a project for post-production, graphics, sound and/or VFX in Poland, and Polish post-production houses Fixafilm, Orka Studio, Black Photon, XANF, and Soundflower Studio will each provide $10,000 in-kind prizes.

The goal of the program is to encourage U.S. producers to work with Poland, either by facilitating co-productions or linking them to services and locations for future projects. The Polish Film Academy offers production incentives for filming in Poland. European buyers, sales agents, distributors, and festival producers will be present at the event.

Recent U.S. ongoing alumni of note include Pete Ohs’ “Jethica,” which was color-graded at Black Photon in Warsaw and premiered at SXSW, and Geoff Marslett’s “Quantum Cowboys,” which he received on the Champs-Elysees The Audience Choice Award Film Festival and composer Maciej Zielinski’s Best Original Score at the Annecy Film Festival. Last year’s Polish Academy Award went to Summer Shelton’s You and Me.

Elsewhere, filmmaker Lispan will serve as dean of Chanel X BIFF Asian Film Academy (AFA), a talent incubator established by the Busan International Film Festival for emerging Asian filmmakers. with pan, filmmaker Chen Cuimei and Yan Huizhen has been confirmed as a mentor.

Panh won the Un Certain Regard Award at the 66th Cannes Film Festival for “The Missing Picture” (2013) and the Asian Filmmaker of the Year Award in Busan the same year. He recently won the Silver Bear for Outstanding Artistic Contribution at the 72nd Berlin International Film Festival for “Everything Will Be Alright” (2022). Chen Cuimei won the New Trend Award and the FIPRESCI Award in Busan and the Tiger Award in Rotterdam for “Love Conquers All” (2006). Um Hye-jung, a graduate of the inaugural AFA program in collaboration with the Busan International Film Festival in 2005. She won the Women’s Film of the Year award for “Bluebeard” (2017).

A total of 407 applicants from 35 countries applied to the AFA program this year, with female filmmakers making up 67% of the applicants. The Central Asian countries Afghanistan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan and other Asian countries such as Nauru and Yemen saw increased participation. The finalists will produce a professionally trained and directed film from September 27th to October 18th. 14. The completed works will be screened during this year’s Busan Festival.


At the same time, filmmaker Beira tar Will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award at the 44th Cairo Film Festival (November 13-22). Tarr won the Ernest Attaria Award in Locarno in 1984 for “The Autumn Yearbook”; the FIPRSCI Award and Best Director Award for “Satantango” (1994) at the Faro Island Film Festival; in 2005, his “The Damned” (1988) won the French Culture Prize at Cannes. He has also won several awards in Berlin, including the Caligari Film Award for “Satantango” (1994), the “Werckmeister Harmonies” (2000) Reader’s Jury for the Berliner Zeitung, as well as the FIPRESCI Award and the Silver Bear for “The Turin Horse” (2011).

lazy loaded images  U.S. In Progress Strand At Wroclaw Festival Sets $100,000 In Awards Spinners



Action drama has started Canal+ Original series “Spinners” (8 x 50′) from Cape Town, South Africa.English/Kaaps/Afrikaans language series, co-production between African streaming services Showmax and Canal+, revolving around the popular and dangerous South African motorsports sport, Spinning, which sees cars moving at high speeds and drivers performing stunts inside and outside the car. The cast includes Cantona James, Chelsea Thomas, Brendon Daniels and Dillon Windvogel. The show is directed by Jaco Bouwer (2021 SXSW winner “Gaia”) and produced by Joachim Landau and Raphaël Rocher for Empreinte Digitale and co-produced by Ramadan Suleman for Natives at Large. Landau also co-wrote with showrunner Benjamin Hoffman, and writers include Matthew Janke, Sean Steinberg, Gillian Breslin, Daniel Zimbler, Byron Abrahams, and Zoë Laband.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.